Health and Social Care

Exam Board

BTEC Health and Social Care

What is Health and Social Care

The Award gives you the opportunity to develop sector-specific knowledge and skills in a practical learning environment. The main focus is on three areas, which cover:

· skills and processes, such as interpreting data to assess an individual’s health, and designing a plan to improve their health and wellbeing

· attitudes, namely the care values that are vitally important in the sector, and the opportunity to practise applying them

· knowledge that underpins the effective use of skills, processes and attitudes, including human growth and development, health and social care services, and factors affecting people’s health and wellbeing.

Who might enjoy this course?

This course is suited to those who are interested in a career in nursing, midwifery or working with early years or the elderly.

What about exams? What will I study?

The course consists of three separate components;


1)       Human Lifespan Development (2 assignments that are internally assessed).


2)       Health and Social Care Services and Values (2 assignments that are internally assessed).


3)       Health and Wellbeing (1 controlled assessment, externally set and marked).






Externally marked assessment

Task set and marked by Pearson, completed under supervised conditions.

The set task will be completed in three hours in the period timetabled by Pearson.

( 60 marks)

What could I do next with Health and Social Care?

This leads on to a level 3 course in Health and  Social Care and is suited for those interested in the nursing or childcare profession.