Exam Board


What is GCSE Combined Science - Trilogy?

In Year 9 all students start their science GCSE by following the AQA GCSE Combined Science curriculum. This course is a double science award, equivalent to two GCSEs.

More information is available via this link to the AQA website:

What are GCSE single Sciences?

In year 10 students will have the option of choosing Separate Science. By following this option, students will achieve a GCSE in each science: Biology, Chemistry and Physics.

More information is available via this link to the AQA websites:,,

What about exams? What will I study?

Students complete a number of required practicals in each subject area throughout the 3 years. Students’ understanding is assessed as part of their final written exam.

Students will complete 6 exams: 2 exams for Biology, 2 for Chemistry and 2 for Physics, each worth 16.7% each.

There are two levels – Foundation and Higher








. Cell biology

. Organisation

. Infection and response

. Bioenergetics

. Homeostasis and response

. Inheritance, variation and evolution

. Ecology

Chemistry -

. Atomic structure and the periodic table

. Bonding, structure, and the properties of matter

. Quantitative chemistry

. Chemical changes

. Energy changes

. The rate and extent of chemical change

. Organic chemistry

. Chemical analysis

. Chemistry of the atmosphere

. Using resources

Physics -

. Energy

. Electricity

. Particle model of matter

. Atomic structure

. Forces

. Waves

. Magnetism and Electromagnetism

. Space physics (physics only)

What could I do next with GCSE Combined Science?

A grade of at least a 5 in GCSE science is required for Higher Education. Many careers starting at age 16 value the skills learned from following a science course. Many university courses in technical subjects require A level sciences.